lan: en
mode: project
page: fti707_hwu883_rmj568
sub: og-page_tit: Park am Seebogen og-page_des: In the Park am Seebogen, we have used a loose framework of trees to define open clearings in the park that facilitate a view of the surrounding urban spaces and the elevated railway line. The elevated railway links the different sections of the park as a spatial backbone and route for urban uses. og-page_kwd: Landscape Architecture, Topic, og-page_url: https://www.hager-ag.ch/en/project/fti707_hwu883_rmj568/ [open] og-page_img: https://www.hager-ag.ch/db_data/pro/fti707_hwu883_rmj568/image01_web.jpg [open]
Slide
Slide 1
Slide 2
Slide 3
Slide 4
Slide 5
Slide 6
Slide 7
Slide 8

Park am Seebogen, Wien

The Park am Seebogen, which is framed by an uninterrupted, loose framework of trees, is being created in the growing Seestadt Aspern near Vienna. Loose rows of columnar trees are arranged in an alternating rhythm where the adjacent residential area directly borders the elevated railway. The heterogeneous framework of trees defines an open clearing in the park that opens up a view of the surrounding urban spaces and the elevated railway. The openness of the clearing contrasts with the concentrated quality of the edge of the park. A park balcony from which views ramble over the clearing in the park to the nearby lake is anchored in the center of the southern clearing. Seebogenplatz on the riverbank forms a transition to the lake promenade.

In our design, we made the elevated railway the focus as a dominant urban element of the park. It forms the spatial backbone that links all the areas of the park with one another. Designed in a characteristic shade of color, the space beneath the railway becomes a “green salon” with a radiance of its own. The world of diverse uses in the shade of the elevated railway develops into an important attraction of the park. Together, the framework of trees, the clearing, and the route of utilizations underneath the elevated railway form a robust basic spatial structure. The Park am Seebogen can thus develop along with the city and looks with serenity at future changes in the constantly changing urban society.

When elaborating the park concept, we put particular emphasis on the functional integration of the elevated railway. As a protected space, the area underneath the railway tracks is supposed to be loaded with various movement-oriented uses. Behind each activity stand groups of users who were already involved in the planning process that preceded the competition. The palette ranges from trendy types of sports like bouldering and parcours to a bicycle playground provided by a private organization. Private sponsorships are supplemented with offers by public authorities with the range of sports for the neighboring school (streetball, sports fields). The canon of active uses underneath the elevated railway is juxtaposed with flexibly useable and tranquil areas in the park space. The program of the park was aligned with the needs of residents within the framework of public surveys and diverse information events. The jointly elaborated ideas were already taken into consideration in the competition design and supplemented and developed further in the subsequent planning.

Client
Wien 3420 AG
Aspern Development AG
Project Data
Competition 2017, 1st prize
Planning 2018-2019
Realisation since 2019
Area 5 ha

Other Projects

lan: de
mode: project
page: fti707_hwu883_rmj568
sub: og-page_tit: Park am Seebogen og-page_des: Im Park am Seebogen definieren wir mit einem lockeren Baumrahmen offene Parklichtungen, die den Blick auf die umgebenden Stadträume und die Hochbahn freigeben. Als räumliches Rückgrat und urbane Nutzungsmeile verbindet die Hochbahn die unterschiedlichen Abschnitte des Parks. og-page_kwd: Landschaftsarchitektur, Themen, og-page_url: https://www.hager-ag.ch/de/project/fti707_hwu883_rmj568/ [open] og-page_img: https://www.hager-ag.ch/db_data/pro/fti707_hwu883_rmj568/image01_web.jpg [open]
Slide
Slide 1
Slide 2
Slide 3
Slide 4
Slide 5
Slide 6
Slide 7
Slide 8

Park am Seebogen, Wien

In der wachsenden Seestadt Aspern bei Wien entsteht der Park am Seebogen, der von einem durchgängigen, lockeren Baumrahmen eingefasst wird. Dort wo die angrenzenden Wohnlagen direkt an die Hochbahn grenzen, werden im alternierenden Rhythmus lockere Reihen aus säulenförmigen Bäumen angeordnet. Der heterogene Baumrahmen definiert eine offene Parklichtung, die den Blick auf die umgebenden Stadträume und die Hochbahn freigibt. Die Offenheit der Lichtung steht im spannungsvollen Kontrast zur Dichte des Parkrandes. Im Zentrum der südlichen Lichtung ist ein Parkbalkon verankert, von dem aus die Blicke über die Parklichtung hinweg bis zum nahen See schweifen. Der am Ufer liegende Seebogenplatz bildet den Übergang zur Seepromenade.

In unserem Entwurf haben wir die Hochbahn als das dominierende urbane Element des Parks in den Fokus gerückt. Sie bildet ein räumliches Rückgrat, das alle Parkbereiche miteinander verbindet. In einem charakteristischen Farbton gehalten, wird der Raum unter Bahn zum »Grünen Salon« mit ganz eigener Ausstrahlung. Die vielfältige Nutzungswelt im Schatten der Hochbahn entwickelt sich zu einer wichtigen Attraktion des Parks. Der Baumrahmen, die Lichtung und die Nutzungsmeile unter der Hochbahn bilden zusammen eine robuste räumliche Grundstruktur. So kann der Park am Seebogen zusammen mit der Stadt wachsen und blickt zukünftigen Veränderungen der sich ständig wandelnden Stadtgesellschaft gelassen entgegen.

Bei der Ausarbeitung des Parkkonzepts haben wir besonderes Gewicht auf die funktionale Einbindung der Hochbahn gelegt. Der Bereich unter der Bahntrasse soll als geschützter Raum mit verschiedenen bewegungsorientierten Nutzungen aufgeladen werden. Hinter jeder Aktivität stehen Gruppen von Nutzern und Nutzerinnen, die bereits vor dem Wettbewerb in den Planungsprozess eingebunden wurden. Die Palette reicht von Trendsportarten wie Bouldern und Parcours bis hin zu einem über einen privaten Träger angebotenen Fahrradspielplatz. Mit den Sportangeboten für die benachbarte Schule (Streetball, Sportfelder) werden die privaten Trägerschaften um ein Angebot der öffentlichen Hand erweitert. Dem aktiven Nutzungskanon unter der Hochbahn stehen flexibel bespielbare und ruhige Bereiche im Parkraum gegenüber. Im Rahmen von öffentlichen Befragungen und diversen Informationsveranstaltungen wurde das Programm des Parks mit den Bedürfnissen der Anwohner und Anwohnerinnen abgeglichen. Die gemeinsam erarbeiteten Ideen wurden bereits im Wettbewerbsentwurf berücksichtigt und in der späteren Planung ergänzt und weiter ausgearbeitet.

Bauherr
Wien 3420 AG
Aspern Development AG
Projektdaten
Wettbewerb 2017, 1.Preis
Projektierung 2018-2019
Realisierung seit Herbst 2019
Fläche 5 ha

Weitere Projekte