lan: en
mode: project
page: gkb707_kse883_ype568
sub: og-page_tit: Botanical Garden Berlin-Dahlem og-page_des: The abundant potentials of the Botanical Garden are being tapped to a greater extent. A new visitor center, the redesigned Italian Garden, an overhauled systems of paths, and new gardens with useful and ornamental plants now make the Botanical Garden that much more attractive. og-page_kwd: Landscape Architecture, Topic, og-page_url: https://hager-ag.ch/en/project/gkb707_kse883_ype568/ [open] og-page_img: https://hager-ag.ch/db_data/pro/gkb707_kse883_ype568/image01_web.jpg [open]
Slide
Slide 1
Slide 2
Slide 3
Slide 4
Slide 5
Slide 6
Slide 7
Slide 8
Slide 9

Botanical Garden Berlin-Dahlem , Berlin

An area of over 43 hectares and roughly 22,000 different varieties of plants make the Botanical Garden in Berlin the second largest botanical gardens in Germany and the fourth largest in the world. The site is cared for by the Free University in Berlin and has the status of a central facility that is independent of any specific faculty. Ten sub-projects consisting of new planning, further developments, and renovations situated between public use, teaching, and monument protection are being discussed and realized within the framework of a funding initiative.

The Botanical Garden opened at its new site in Berlin-Dahlem in 1904 based on the motto “The world in one garden.” More than a century later, it still holds a leading position among comparable gardens in the world. With roughly 300,000 visitors per year, the potential of the site has nonetheless still not been tapped to its full extent. Following the renovation of the large greenhouses from 2006 to 2015 and the reorganization of the area of marketing and public relations work, the focus now is on realizing extensive measures to improve the tourist infrastructure.

In cooperation with a team of specialist planners, we are designing and coordinating the most extensive aspect of the development measures: the open-air facilities. While taking monument protection into particular consideration, the primary aim is to emphasize the unique selling points of the garden in the long term and to considerably increase its attractiveness for visitors—among other things, by means of a new visitor center, a fundamental overhauling of the paths, a modern signage and information system, and a new design of various ornamental garden areas, including the magnificent Italian Garden.

Client
Freie Universität Berlin ZE
Botanischer Garten Berlin
Botanisches Museum Berlin
Project Data
Competition 2016
Planning 2016-2021
Realisation 2018-2023
Area ca. 43 ha (430`000 m²)
Project Team
heneghan peng architects
irriprojekts
Tim Meier

Other Projects

lan: de
mode: project
page: gkb707_kse883_ype568
sub: og-page_tit: Botanischer Garten Dahlem og-page_des: Die reichhaltigen Potenziale des Botanischen Gartens werden weiter ausgeschöpft. Ein neues Besucherzentrum, der überarbeitete Italienische Garten, sanierte Wegesysteme sowie neue Nutzpflanzen- und Schmuckgärten machen die Gartenanlagen wesentlich attraktiver. og-page_kwd: Landschaftsarchitektur, Themen, og-page_url: https://www.hager-ag.ch/de/project/gkb707_kse883_ype568/ [open] og-page_img: https://www.hager-ag.ch/db_data/pro/gkb707_kse883_ype568/image01_web.jpg [open]
Slide
Slide 1
Slide 2
Slide 3
Slide 4
Slide 5
Slide 6
Slide 7
Slide 8
Slide 9

Botanischer Garten Dahlem, Berlin

Der Botanische Garten Berlin ist mit einer Fläche von über 43 Hektar und etwa 22.000 verschiedenen Pflanzenarten der zweitgrößte Botanische Garten Deutschlands und der viertgrößte weltweit. Die Anlage ist unter der Obhut der Freien Universität Berlin und hat den Status einer fakultätsunabhängigen Zentraleinrichtung. Im Rahmen einer Fördermaßnahme werden zehn Teilprojekte aus Neuplanungen, Weiterentwicklungen und Sanierungen diskutiert und realisiert, die sich im Spannungsfeld zwischen öffentlicher Nutzung, Lehre und Denkmalschutz bewegen.

Unter dem Motto »Die Welt in einem Garten« wurde der Botanische Garten im Jahre 1904 am neuen Standort in Berlin-Dahlem eröffnet. Mehr als ein Jahrhundert später hält er nach wie vor eine Spitzenposition unter vergleichbaren Gärten der Welt. Mit etwa 300.000 Besuchern und Besucherinnen jährlich ist das Potenzial der Anlage jedoch bei Weitem noch nicht ausgeschöpft. Nach der Sanierung der großen Gewächshäuser von 2006 bis 2015 und der Neuordnung des Bereiches Marketing und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, liegt der Fokus nun auf der Realisierung umfangreicher Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung der touristischen Infrastruktur.

Zusammen mit einem Team von Fachplanern gestalten und koordinieren wir den umfangreichsten Aspekt der Entwicklungsmaßnahme: die Freianlagen. Unter besonderer Berücksichtigung des Denkmalschutzes ist es vorrangiges Ziel, die Alleinstellungsmerkmale des Gartens dauerhaft hervorzuheben und seine Attraktivität für Besucherinnen und Besucher deutlich zu erhöhen - unter anderem durch ein neues Besucherzentrum, die Grunderneuerung der Wege, ein modernes Leit- und Informationssystem sowie die Neugestaltung verschiedener Schmuckgartenbereiche, einschließlich des prachtvollen Italienischen Gartens.

Bauherr
Freie Universität Berlin ZE
Botanischer Garten Berlin
Botanisches Museum Berlin
Projektdaten
VOF Verfahren 2016
Projektierung 2016-2021
Realisierung 2018-2023
Fläche ca. 43 ha (430`000 m²)
Projektteam
heneghan peng architects
irriprojekts
Tim Meier

Weitere Projekte