lan: en
mode: project
page: umx707_mud883_hsc568
sub: og-page_tit: Private Garden M. og-page_des: The private garden is framed by plantings of grasses and perennials. At its center lies a pool with areas for sitting and grilling near the neighboring basin of water lilies. We have positioned a tulip tree with a tall trunk on the lawn. Three low cushions of yews create caesuras. og-page_kwd: Landscape Architecture, Topic, og-page_url: https://hager-ag.ch/en/project/umx707_mud883_hsc568/ [open] og-page_img: https://hager-ag.ch/db_data/pro/umx707_mud883_hsc568/image01_web.jpg [open]
Slide
Slide 1
Slide 2
Slide 3
Slide 4
Slide 5
Slide 6
Slide 7
Slide 8
Slide 9

Private Garden M., Herrliberg

A highly regulated design plan provided by the builder, which stipulates the location and height of woody plants, among other aspects, contradicted the wishes of the lady of the house to lay out a spacious, modern garden to match the architecture.

The villa with its view of Lake Zurich consists of square and rectangular volumes. Outlook terraces and views through the rooms to the outdoor space develop on three levels. We continued this design vocabulary in the garden by nestling rectangular areas around and up to the building.

Structuring plantings that remain readable throughout the year create a colorful contrast to the light façade and sandstone surfacing: evergreen, trimmed cushions of yews, a lawn area in front of one of the terraces, and the demarcating, circumferential yew hedge as the conclusion and background of the garden.

But the greatest contrast to the austere, cubic volumes of the building are provided by the sumptuous, near-natural planting of grasses, which take up over half of the garden and ensure generosity and a privacy shield at the same time. Individual, umbrella-shaped juneberry trees (Amelanchier lamarckii) and Judas trees (Cercis silliquastrum) are interspersed in the grasses. Two color motifs predominate in this “prairie garden”: white and pale yellow, along with purple- and magenta-hued grasses and perennials. This corresponds to the wish of the lady of the house for a white garden and that of the man of the house for intensive, striking shades of color. The two groups of colors form two bands that draw through the garden interwoven with one another.
So as to put the size of the three-story villa with a living room on the third floor in context, we planted a tulip tree near the house, in the only place that was possible based on the design plan, with its branches first starting at the height of the third story. In the living room of the villa, one now has the feeling of sitting in the crown of the tree, while the view of Lake Zurich remains free below the branches.

Client
Privatbesitz
Project Data
Competition 2007, 1st prize
Planning 2008-2009
Realisation 2009-2010
Area 1`300 m²
Project Team
huggen berger fries Architekten, Zürich

Other Projects

lan: de
mode: project
page: umx707_mud883_hsc568
sub: og-page_tit: Privatgarten M. og-page_des: Im Zentrum liegt der Pool mit seitlichen Sitz- und Grillplätzen bei einem Seerosenbecken. In den Rasen setzen wir einen hoch aufgeasteten Tulpenbaum. Gefasst wird der Garten mit Gräsern und Stauden. Drei niedere Eibenkissen bringen Ruhe in das bunte Treiben. og-page_kwd: Landschaftsarchitektur, Themen, og-page_url: https://www.hager-ag.ch/de/project/umx707_mud883_hsc568/ [open] og-page_img: https://www.hager-ag.ch/db_data/pro/umx707_mud883_hsc568/image01_web.jpg [open]
Slide
Slide 1
Slide 2
Slide 3
Slide 4
Slide 5
Slide 6
Slide 7
Slide 8
Slide 9

Privatgarten M., Herrliberg

Ein stark reglementierter Privater Gestaltungsplan, welcher u.a. den Standort und die Höhe von Gehölzen vorschreibt, liegt konträr zum Anspruch der Bauherrschaft, einen grosszügigen, modernen Garten zur Villa zu erhalten.
Die Villa mit Blick auf den Zürichsee ist aus quadratischen und rechteckigen Körpern gefügt. Auf drei Ebenen entwickeln sich Terrassen und Durchsichten in den Aussenraum. Diese Formensprache haben wir im Garten weitergeführt: rechteckigen Körper schieben und schmiegen sich um und an das Gebäude.
Im farblichen Kontrast zur hellen Fassade und den Sandsteinbelägen stehen die strukturierenden Gartenkörper, welche das ganze Jahr über lesbar bleiben: immergrüne, geschnittene Eibenkörper, eine der Terrasse vorgelagerte Rasenfläche und die begrenzende, umlaufende Eibenhecke als Abschluss und Hintergrund im Garten.
Den grössten Kontrast zum strukturierten Gebäude bildet die üppige Gräserpflanzung, welche über die Hälfte der Gartenfläche einnimmt. Sie schafft Sichtschutz und Grosszügigkeit zugleich. In diese Gräserpflanzung sind schirmförmige Felsenbirnen (Amelanchier lamarckii) und Judasbäume (Cercis silliquastrum) eingestreut. Im Präriegarten herrschen zwei Farbbilder vor: zum einen weisse, zartgelbe Gräser und Stauden und zum anderen purpur magentafarbene Gräser und Stauden. Dies entspricht den Vorlieben der Hausherrin für einen weissen Garten und denen des Hausherrn nach intensiven, auffälligen Farbtönen. Diese zwei Farbgruppen bilden zwei Bänder, die sich ineinander verwoben durch den Garten ziehen.
Um die Grösse der dreigeschosssigen Villa mit dem Wohnzimmer im dritten Geschoss zu relativieren, haben wir einen bis zum dritten Obergeschoss aufgeasteten Tulpenbaum nahe an das Haus gepflanzt, den einzigen Ort, der vom Gestaltungsplan möglich war. Im Wohnzimmer hat man das Gefühl, in der Baumkrone zu sitzen, unter den Ästen gibt der Tulpenbaum die Aussicht frei auf den Zürichsee.

Bauherr
Privatbesitz
Projektdaten
Wettbewerb 2007, 1. Preis
Projektierung 2008-2009
Realisierung 2009-2010
Fläche 1'300 m²
Projektteam
huggen berger fries Architekten, Zürich

Weitere Projekte