lan: en
mode: project
page: ndm707_nlt883_kbc568
sub: og-page_tit: Railway Station Forecourt og-page_des: The railway station forecourt, which was awarded the FLUX Swiss mobility prize in 2019, is the most heavily frequented public transport hub in Eastern Switzerland. The openly designed public square is simultaneously one of the most important urban spaces in St.Gallen. og-page_kwd: Landscape Architecture, Topic, og-page_url: https://hager-ag.ch/en/project/ndm707_nlt883_kbc568/ [open] og-page_img: https://hager-ag.ch/db_data/pro/ndm707_nlt883_kbc568/image01_web.jpg [open]
Slide
Slide 1
Slide 2
Slide 3
Slide 4
Slide 5
Slide 6
Slide 7
Slide 8
Slide 9

Railway Station Forecourt, St.Gallen

The new railway station forecourt once again does justice to its significance as one of the most important urban spaces in St.Gallen. The markedly open and clearly designed square is framed for the most part by landmarked buildings. The new arrival hall closes the space between the historical reception building and the Rathaus. At night, discreet façade lighting emphasizes the contours of the public square.

The new, compact organization of public transport enabled us to create spacious areas of the public square with different qualities of time spent. Kornhausplatz becomes inviting as a spacious urban square and central meeting place with its natural stone paving, the Lämmlerbrunnen fountain, and benches and restaurants for spending time under the newly planted trees. At the same time, there is also still sufficient space for temporary events. Gutenbergstrasse, which leads directly to the historical reception building, has been restructured as a pedestrian zone. The Bahnhofpärkli park in the east, which is framed by perennials and cherry trees, forms a green oasis in the middle of the traffic areas and is a starting point for the avenue along Poststrasse, which leads pedestrians and public transport along blooming Grabenpärkli toward the city center. At the northern end of the new eastern pedestrian underpass, two small public squares have been created for spending time and as an entrée to the train station. The new organization of the St.Gallen train station was awarded the FLUX Swiss mobility prize in 2019.

Client
Stadt St. Gallen
SBB AG
Project Data
Competition 2009, 1st Prize
Planning 2010-2013
Realisation 2015-2019
Area 3 ha
Project Team
Giuliani Hönger Architekten AG, Zürich
stadt raum verkehr, birchler+wicki, Zürich
Dr.Lüchinger+Meyer AG, Zürich
Grünenfelder+Lorenz AG, St.Gallen
Nänny + Partner AG, St.Gallen
Tiefbauamt Stadt St.Gallen
Publications

Other Projects

lan: de
mode: project
page: ndm707_nlt883_kbc568
sub: og-page_tit: Bahnhofplatz og-page_des: Der mit dem Schweizer Mobilitätspreis FLUX 2019 ausgezeichnete Bahnhofplatz bildet die am stärksten frequentierte Drehscheibe des öffentlichen Verkehrs in der Ostschweiz. Gleichzeitig ist der offen gestaltete Platz einer der wichtigsten Stadträume in St.Gallen. og-page_kwd: Landschaftsarchitektur, Themen, og-page_url: https://www.hager-ag.ch/de/project/ndm707_nlt883_kbc568/ [open] og-page_img: https://www.hager-ag.ch/db_data/pro/ndm707_nlt883_kbc568/image01_web.jpg [open]
Slide
Slide 1
Slide 2
Slide 3
Slide 4
Slide 5
Slide 6
Slide 7
Slide 8
Slide 9

Bahnhofplatz, St.Gallen

Der neue Bahnhofplatz wird seinem Stellenwert als einer der wichtigsten Stadträume von St.Gallen wieder voll gerecht. Der betont offen und übersichtlich gestaltete Platz wird von zumeist denkmalgeschützten Gebäuden gefasst. Die neue Ankunftshalle schliesst den Raum zwischen dem historischen Aufnahmegebäude und dem Rathaus. Nachts werden die Konturen des Platzes durch eine dezente Fassadenbeleuchtung betont.

Aufgrund der neuen, kompakten Organisation des öffentlichen Verkehrs konnten wir grosszügige Platzräume mit unterschiedlichen Aufenthaltsqualitäten schaffen. Der Kornhausplatz lädt als grosszügiger Stadtplatz und zentraler Begegnungsort mit Natursteinbelag, Lämmlerbrunnen sowie Sitzbänken und Restaurants zum Verweilen unter den neu gepflanzten Bäumen ein. Gleichzeitig bleibt ausreichend Platz für temporäre Events. Die direkt auf das historische Bahnhofsgebäude führende Gutenbergstrasse wurde zur Fussgängerzone umgebaut. Das mit Stauden und Kirschbäumen gefasste Bahnhofpärkli im Osten bildet inmitten der Verkehrsflächen eine grüne Oase und ist Ausgangspunkt für die Allee entlang der Poststrasse, die Fussgänger und öffentlichen Verkehr am blühenden Grabenpärkli vorbei in die Innenstadt führt. Am nördlichen Ende der neuen Personenunterführung-Ost entstanden zwei kleine Plätze zum Verweilen und als Entrées zum Bahnhof. Die Neuorganisation des Bahnhofs St.Gallen wurde mit dem Schweizerischen Mobilitätspreis FLUX 2019 ausgezeichnet.

Bauherr
Stadt St. Gallen
SBB AG
Projektdaten
Wettbewerb 2009, 1. Preis
Projektierung 2010-2013
Volksentscheid 2013
Realisierung 2015-2019
Fläche 3 ha
Gewinner Goldener Verkehrsknoten FLUX 2019
Projektteam
Giuliani Hönger Architekten AG, Zürich
stadt raum verkehr, birchler+wicki, Zürich
Dr.Lüchinger+Meyer AG, Zürich
Grünenfelder+Lorenz AG, St.Gallen
Nänny + Partner AG, St.Gallen
Tiefbauamt Stadt St.Gallen
Dokumentation
Publikationen

Weitere Projekte