On Landscape Architecture

Images and landscape architecture have long been a intertwined. Claude Lorrain and other landscape painters of the 17th century already substantially shaped the development of the English landscape garden. Vice versa, painters were inspired by the finely composed landscapes of individuals such as Lancelot ‘Capability’ Brown.

Interestingly, when Guido Hager contemplates his 25 years of working life, he also cannot manage without pictures. He, therefore, asked Robin Foster to photograph his gardens and parks. The British photographer mirrors the contemplative nature of creating gardens in calm, black-and-white panorama images, creating a calm reflection on illusion and reality, on light and dark, on the poetry and truth of a synthetic Arcadia.

When three landscape architects and their photographers and book designers select one of these panorama images for themselves, then they begin to wander through the garden created in their minds and to recount what comprises the venture of building gardens for our fast-paced society of today.

Karin Salm


über landschaftsarchitektur

√úber Landschaftsarchitektur

Das Bild und die Landschaftsarchitektur sind ein altes Paar. Schon Claude Lorrain und andere Landschaftsmaler des 17. Jahrhunderts haben die Entwicklung des Englischen Landschaftsgartens wesentlich geprägt. Umgekehrt ließen Maler sich von den fein komponierten Landschaften eines Lancelot Capability Brown inspirieren.

Interessanterweise kommt auch Guido Hager im Innehalten nach 25 Berufsjahren nicht ohne Bild aus. Er hat Robin Foster gebeten, seine G√§rten und P√§rke in Bilder zu fassen. Der englische Fotograf spiegelt das stille Wesen der Gartensch√∂pfungen in ruhigen, schwarz-weissen Panoramabildern. Entstanden ist eine gelassene Reflexion √ľber Illusion und Wirklichkeit, √ľber Hell und Dunkel, √ľber Dichtung und Wahrheit eines synthetischen Arkadiens.
Wenn drei Landschaftsarchitekten und ihre Fotografen und Buchgestalter sich eines dieser Panorama-Bilder ausw√§hlen, dann beginnen sie diese Gartensch√∂pfung gedanklich zu durchwandern und davon zu erz√§hlen, worin das Wagnis besteht, f√ľr unsere heutige schnelllebige Gesellschaft G√§rten zu bauen.

Karin Salm

Łber landschaftsarchitektur