Städtische Bibliothek  

Municipal Library Heidenheim

The library in Heidenheim is a new urban sculptural component with an island-like character. The square and street space flow around it with a light-colored surface. Planted areas take up the picture of the building as a “street silhouette” and structure the elongated square by means of offsets.

Burgerspital  

Burgerspital Bern

The Burgerspital with its inner courtyards is considered to be one of the most beautiful Baroque buildings in Bern. The large inner courtyard was created in the first half of the eighteenth century. It was remodeled several times in the nineteenth and twentieth century. There are only a few informative archival documents, which are now being interpreted atmospherically. The stringent basic architectonic form of the Baroque courtyard is being continued with clipped, high-trunk lindens alternating with potted plants and sunken squares of lawn.

The Circle-Flughafen  

The Circle-Airport Zürich

In cooperation with Riken Yamamoto architects, the landscape and buildings are interwoven with each other in design and function, creating a fascinating spatial dialogue. Indigenous forest ecosystems, open meadow areas, small glades, and a varied topography are mirrored on the façade. The flooring surface pushes out of the interiors of the buildings into the park. Spacious park terraces offer a splendid panoramic view.

Musée d'Ethnographie  

Musée d'Ethnographie Genève

The Ethnographic Museum is receiving a new city garden above the exhibition hall. Under an airy grove of blossoming trees, benches and lawn areas invite relaxing and strolling.

Innenhof des Bundestags  

Inner Courtyard of the Bundestag Berlin

In an orthogonal patter, paths, functions, and green areas are woven into an abstract, geometric picture. They become the expression of the mixing of art and everyday life, a subtle call to mistrust a conventional view of things.

Friedhof Friedental  

Friedhof Friedental Luzern

Within the substance worthy of protection, elements such as the avenue are once again strengthened, while the grave fields are arranged anew. Seating areas with cedars invite contemplation. The eastern section is supplemented within the existing structure with new forms of burial.

Universität Zentrum  

University Zentrum Zürich

In order to improve the range of qualitatively high-value open spaces at the university, all of the remaining areas will be made able to be used more intensively. The inaccessible courtyard was opened up to become a passageway.

Kloster Engelberg  

Abbey Engelberg

With the simple church forecourt and the serenely designed inner courtyard, the Benedictine Engelberg Abbey receives a welcome complement to the picturesque, sublime alpine landscape.

Estrel Tower  

Hotel Estrel Berlin

With the planned enlargement of the Estrel Hotel by the firm Barkow Leibinger, Berlin is receiving its tallest building. Generous steps lead to the water and a loose planting of trees invites relaxing after an intensive day in the city!

Experimenta Heilbronn  

Experimenta Heilbronn

Sauerbruch Hutton Architects are expanding the Experimenta Science Museum. The entrance plaza with splinter-shaped inlays lies between the present building and the spectacular new Science Dome. Steps lead close to the water. Behind them lies a serene, park-like landscape.

Fachhochschulzentrum St.Gallen  

University of Applied Arts Center St.Gallen

The eighteen-story university of applied arts is located at the train station. The roof garden on the fifth floor is the only green outdoor space for students. The design is derived from the hilly surrounding landscape with forests and meadows.

Pflegezentrum Mattenhof  

Mattenhof Nursing Center Zürich

The renovation of the nursing center is accompanied by the creation of an appealing path leading to new seating areas under wooded groves, planted to supplement the existing stock of trees. Along the path are a pool of water under pagoda trees, a rose garden with cypress oaks, an animal enclosure under Japanese cherries, a playground between spruces, and a fitness facility in Cornelian cherries.

Primarschule Uster  

Primary School Uster

Lines of trees and low hedges frame the school grounds. The outdoor space is functional, clearly arranged, and spaciously designed. It is structured into an entrance zone with an urban character with surfaces of asphalt and artificial materials and a soft lawn area, both connected by groups of trees.

KVA - Energiezentrale Forsthaus  

Waste incineration plant Forsthaus Bern

The new, 300-meter-long energy center is anchored like a cargo ship in the Bremgarterwald (Bremgarten Forest) before the gates of Bern. We congratulate Graber Pulver Architekten AG on winning the top prize at the ARC Award 2013 in the category of “office, commercial, retail, and industrial buildings.” We are responsible for the outdoor areas and inner courtyards.

Städtische Bibliothek  

Städtische Bibliothek Heidenheim

Die Bibliothek in Heidenheim ist ein neuer skulpturaler Stadtbaustein mit inselartigem Charakter. Platz und Strassenraum umspülen ihn in einem hellen Belag. Pflanzflächen nehmen das Bild des Gebäudes als „Strassensilhouette“ auf und gliedern durch Versprünge den langgestreckten Platz.

Burgerspital  

Burgerspital Bern

Das Burgerspital mit seinen Innenhöfen gilt als einer der schönsten Barockbauten Berns. Der grosse Innenhof entstand in der 1. Hälfte des 18. Jahrhunderts. Im 19. und 20. Jahrhundert fanden mehrere Überformungen statt. Aussagekräftige Archivalien finden sich nur wenige. Diese werden stimmungsvoll interpretiert. Die streng architektonische Grundform des barocken Hofes wird mit geschnittenen Lindenhochstämme im Wechsel mit Kübelpflanzen und abgesenkten Rasengevierten fortgeführt.

The Circle-Flughafen  

The Circle-Flughafen ZĂĽrich

Zusammen mit Riken Yamamoto Architekten werden Landschaft und Gebäude gestalterisch und funktional miteinander verwoben und in einen spannungsvollen räumlichen Dialog gesetzt. Einheimische Waldgesellschaften, offene Wiesenflächen, kleine Lichtungen und abwechslungsreiche Topografie werden an die Fassade geführt. Der Belag schiebt sich aus dem Gebäudeinneren in den Park. Grosszügige Parkterrassen bieten einen grandiosen Panoramablick.

MusĂ©e d'Ethnographie  

Musée d'Ethnographie Genève

Das Ethnographische Museum bekommt über dem Ausstellungssaal einen neuen Stadtgarten. Unter einem lockeren Hain von Blütenbäumen laden Sitzbänke und Rasenflächen zum Ausruhen und Spazieren ein.

Innenhof des Bundestags  

Innenhof des Bundestags Berlin

In einem orthogonalen Muster verweben sich Wege, Funktionen und Grünflächen zu einem geometrisch abstrakten Bild. Sie werden zum Ausdruck der Durchmischung von Kunst und Alltag, eine subtile Aufforderung, einer konventionellen Sicht auf die Dinge zu misstrauen.

Friedhof Friedental  

Friedhof Friedental Luzern

Innerhalb der schutzwürdigen Substanz werden Elemente wie die Allee wieder verstärkt, die Grabfelder jedoch neu angeordnet. Sitzplätze mit Zedern laden zur Einkehr ein. Der Ostteil wird innerhalb der vorhandenen Struktur mit neuen Bestattungsformen ergänzt.

Universität Zentrum  

Universität Zentrum Zürich

Um das Angebot an qualitativ hochwertigen Freiflächen an der Universität zu verbessern, werden alle Restflächen stärker nutzbar gemacht. Der nicht zugängliche Hof wurde zum Durchgang geöffnet.

Kloster Engelberg  

Kloster Engelberg

Das Benediktinerkloster Engelberg erhält mit dem schlichten Kirchenvorplatz und dem ruhig durchgestalteten Innenhof eine wohltuende Ergänzung zur malerisch erhabenen Alpenlandschaft.

Estrel Tower  

Hotel Estrel Berlin

Mit der Erweiterung der Architekten Barkow Leibinger bekommt Berlin sein höchstes Gebäude. Zum Wasser führen grosszügig angelegte Treppen, unter locker gepflanzten Bäumen lässt es sich gut Ausruhen nach einem intensiven Tag in der Stadt!

Experimenta Heilbronn  

Experimenta Heilbronn

Sauerbruch Hutton Architekten erweitern die Experimenta. Zwischen dem vorhandenen Bau und dem neuen spektakulären Science Dome liegt der Eingangsplatz mit splitterförmigen Intarsien. Stufen führen in die Nähe des Wassers. Dahinter liegt eine ruhige, parkartige Landschaft.

Fachhochschulzentrum St.Gallen  

Fachhochschulzentrum St.Gallen

Am Bahnhof steht die 18-stöckige Fachhochschule. Der Dachgarten auf dem 5.Obergeschoss ist der einzige grüne Aussenraum für die Studierenden. Die Gestaltung leitet sich aus der umliegenden Hügellandschaft mit Wälder und Wiesen ab.

Pflegezentrum Mattenhof  

Pflegezentrum Mattenhof ZĂĽrich

Mit der Erneuerung des Pflegezentrums wurde ein anregender Spazierweg geschaffen, der zu neuen Sitzplätzen unter Baumhainen in Ergänzung zum übernommenen Baumbestand führt: ein Wasserbecken unter Sophoras, ein Rosengarten mit Säuleneichen, ein Tiergehege unter Blütenkirschen, ein Spielplatz zwischen Fichten und eine Fitness-Anlage in Kornelkirschen.

Primarschule Uster  

Primarschule Uster

Baumreihen und niedere Hecke fassen das Schulgelände. Der Aussenraum ist funktional, übersichtlich und weitläufig gestaltet. Er gliedert sich in eine städtisch geprägte Eingangszone mit Asphalt- und Kunststoffbelägen und in eine weiche Rasenfläche, verbunden durch Baumgruppen.

KVA - Energiezentrale Forsthaus  

Energiezentrale Forsthaus Bern

Die neue, 300m lange Energiezentrale ankert, einem Frachtschiff gleich, im Bremgartenwald. Der Wald zur Bremgartenstrasse hin wurde auf ca. 8m aufgeastet, gerodete Flächen wieder aufgeforstet. Ein Spazierweg führt durch den Wald. Eine Mulde nimmt das Regenwasser der Dachflächen und der Strasse zur Versickerung auf. Die drei Innenhöfe verfolgen eine Sukzession vom steinigen Hof zum Vegetationshof. Der Eingangsplatz und die Parkplätze nehmen das Bild des Waldes auf.